Jim Harrison, the ancient minstrel/mongrel

Started reading Harrison’s final book last night. He writes in the introduction that he was thinking of writing a memoir, an addition to an earlier one. “To be honest,” he writes, “which I am often not. . . .” And then family members demand to be left out. So, “I decided to continue the memoir in the form of a novella. At this late date I couldn’t bear to lapse into any delusions of reality in nonfiction.” He had troubles, he says, deciding on the title: minstrel? mongrel?

At the beginning of my Immortal for Quite Some Time, I claim that it is not a memoir, noting that the photos are as unreliable as the prose.

No delusions of reality in my nonfiction. And mongrels have better genes than purebreds.

About Scott Abbott

Ph.D. in German Literature from Princeton University, 1979. Then I taught at Vanderbilt University, BYU, and Utah Valley State College. At Utah Valley University, I'm Director of the Program in Integrated Studies and former Chair of the Department of Humanities and Philosophy. My publications include a book on Freemasonry and the German Novel, two co-authored books with Zarko Radakovic (published in Serbo-Croatian in Belgrade), and translations of a book by Austrian author Peter Handke and of a catalogue of an exhibit called "The German Army and Genocide." More famously, my children are in the process of creating good lives for themselves: as a model and manager, as a teacher of Chinese language, as a watershed scientist and science writer, as a jazz musician, as a corrections officer, as university students, and as parents. I share my life with UVU historian Lyn Bennett and our yellow dog Blue. Some publications at http://works.bepress.com/scott_abbott/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

